Real Estate
Sponsored by

Construction Loan and Building your own house

5,885 Views | 17 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by mags09
chn4
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Other than the expected response of "dont do it", any advice? My wife and I found a LOT in our neighborhood that we want to build on while still living in our current house. The lot is for sale and we are currently getting quotes for Land Clearing, House Pad, etc. After that, I'll have a better idea on if we can afford a new house or not.

I think my biggest challenge is going to be financing and getting approved for a construction loan....in the range of $500K....and then converting that to a permanent loan. I've talked to a couple of banks and havent gotten very far. I figure I'd at least need to obtain a builder's license (hard to do?), create an LLC, and put down 20%. I've never built a house from scratch before, so I know that is going to work against me, but I know I can do it....convincing the banks is another story though.

I have all the sub contractors in place that just did a $100K remodel on my home and are also all the same subs that built my current home 5 years ago (and most of the other homes in our neighborhood as well).

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I do know it would be a lot of work and I'm aware obstacles I'm currently unaware of, but we could build our dream home this way and I'd enjoy learning the process.

Advice on who to talk to and what the next steps should be for us?

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!!!!

Deats99
AG
Texas presents challenges in acting as your own GC for construction because it is next to impossible to obtain the proper liens on the builder and property during construction in order to secure the loans. Several companies and individuals have made a side industry off of facilitating these transactions as straw GC's. I will let others discuss that.
A good plan violently executed now is better than a perfect plan executed next week.
-George S Patton
jja79
AG