Real Estate
Sponsored by

Need help with house lease

1,478 Views | 13 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by Diggity
GasAg90
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Quick question-son is at A&M renting a house. We are negotiating the lease renewal, and the owner wants to include a lockbox for the last 225 days of the Lease.

Is this normal? I see the need to show it to prospective renters, but why would they need a box if the management company was accompanying prospective renters? This could potentially give totally uncontrolled access. This provision was not on the original lease. Im inclined to strike it but wanted other opinions since I'm not experienced.
GasAg90
Forgot to mention that They offer to remove the box for $300. Sounds sketchy, but like I said, I'm not experienced with this type of thing.
Martin Q. Blank
Yes, that's excessive. I put 60 days and $25 fee in my leases.
Red Pear Realty
Sponsor
AG
Does the lease end in August, with the showing date starting in January?
Sponsor Message: We Split Commissions. Full Service Agents in Austin, Bryan-College Station, Dallas-Fort Worth, Houston and San Antonio. Red Pear Realty
4lilmonkeys
If they're trying to prelease it for August, it would make sense. I've had people calling for May-August since November.

Edited to add - do you happen to know if the property was sold while they were living in it? If it's a new owner, I think that may account for modifications to the lease.

Just to ease your mind - a lockbox isn't giving total unrestricted access. Each agent has a PIN number specific to them so the listing agent or company gets notified any time it's opened (opened via Bluetooth app). Most rentals also request 24hr notice for showings either through the property management company (who contacts the tenants) or the tenants themselves so they do have SOME control over the situation and have time to put away valuables, etc.
Red Pear Realty
Sponsor
AG