Real Estate
Sponsored by

Anybody in the Masters in Real Estate program?

3,740 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by rday34
preston1curling
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I am interested in that program, but I know it is also something I can learn on my own. Would it be beneficial?
AggieAdvisor16
AG
I have no experience with this program, but I'm an advisor for a different program on campus. I would recommend contacting the advisor or director for the program. They should be willing to give you contact info for a current student who can answer questions you have. Just bear in mind that they are going to cherry pick one who loves the program, so take everything with a grain of salt.
CaptnCarl
AG
That question is up to you. Have friends that have gone both route and been successful in real estate. The more successful ones did NOT do the MRE, but they also had good connections to good firms and were sharp and motivated.

I think the better question is do you want to spend another year in school living in College Station? Nowadays, the school will sell you any degree you're willing to pay for. You don't need the degree, the school needs your money.

If you have a good opportunity with a good real estate firm, TAKE IT! If you're still waiting for that opportunity to come around, doing the MRE isn't a bad decision. Just my two cents.
CaptnCarl
AG
Also, the current MRE students obviously believe the program is worth it. They will believe they are going to be more successful in Real Estate than the ones who don't do the program.

Talk to ones 0-20 years out of school in real estate - both MRE and not. If you don't know those people yet, then there is your answer.

The best thing about MRE (and every A&M degree) is the networking. Do you need another year of real estate networking, or do already have those connections to get started?
aggiejumper
AG