Real Estate
Sponsored by

Next Step Career Advice - DFW CRE

613 Views | 1 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by CD12Ag
CD12Ag
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am seeking some advice on continuing my career in commercial real estate in DFW. I considered posting this on the Jobs board, but I thought this thread might have a better chance of catching the eyes of some of the experts who frequent this board.

A little background - I have five years of experience as a leasing agent, focusing mostly on office. My career began at a boutique shop. After two years, I moved over to a larger firm to continue my growth and network.

Unfortunately, just under a year ago I was forced to make a tough decision to leave the industry due to unforeseen family circumstances. This was the most difficult career decision I have been forced to make to date, but I had to do what was best to take care of my family.

Fast forward to today... The circumstances that caused me to leave the CRE industry have been resolved, and I am working on a plan to get back into the industry. The decision that I was forced to make may turn out to be a blessing in disguise as I now have the opportunity to reevaluate my career path and help position myself to reach my ultimate goals - start a company focused office & industrial, ground-up & value add opportunities.

My questions for the RE Board are:
1) Do you have any advice on companies/positions that you would focus on next in order to reach this goal?
2) Looking back, did you take on a role that you believe helped catapult your career?
3) Any other general advice is appreciated.
Bitter Old Man
AG