Real Estate
Sponsored by

First time home buyer... sorta? - questions inside

1,965 Views | 18 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by ChoppinDs40
ChoppinDs40
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Getting married in a few weeks and had a conversation at work come up about the first time home buyer options.

We already own a home but it's 100% in my name, underwritten to my income, and I plan on filing individual taxes for some time.

With that, assuming her income was enough to underwrite the mortgage servicing, could she apply as a first time home buyer?
Wife is an Aggie
I'm no pro but Isn't a first time home buyer program pretty much just an FHA loan...? Which unless you have really bad credit and/or can't muster up more than 3.5% down payment, I see no reason why you would ever want an FHA loan.
Jay@AgsReward.com
Sponsor
AG
You do not have to be a first time homeowner to use an FHA loan or really any other low down payment loan program (including the 1% program available in most populated counties in Texas.), There are some grants, down payment assistance programs etc that might require you to be a first time home buyer but most of those are either not that great, income limited or require you to live in certain census tracks. Or, all three.
ChoppinDs40
AG
Should have specified. Looking to basically buy an investment property with as little down as possible.

Yeah yeah investment property/primary residence. Whatevs
Deats99
AG
What-evs is an intent to occupy affidavit. So buying a house as owner occupied with the intent of flipping it immediately to investment is mortgage fraud.

Just saying
A good plan violently executed now is better than a perfect plan executed next week.
-George S Patton
GarlandAg2012
AG
Can you continue to file taxes as a single once you're married? Aren't the brackets more favorable for a single person? Or did the OP mean married filing separately?
ChoppinDs40
AG