Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Patent Attorney Help

935 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by chiphijason
chn4
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Looking for a second opinion from a Patent Attorney.

A quick summary of where I'm at.

Contacted "Leavitt and Eldredge" out of Fort Worth, paid them $750 to do a patent search, received positive results, but now the bill is $4,250.00 to complete a patent application.

I don't have the time or experience right now to file an application myself, so hiring a patent attorney is my plan right now.

The patent attorney I spoke with was nice enough but when I kept hearing "we make our money on litigation" and then feeling some pressure to proceed with the $4,250.00...idk, just feels weird.

I'm just wanting to talk to someone I can trust if anyone has a recommendation or willing to help.

Thanks!
TXTransplant
I'm a patent agent that works regularly with outside counsel to prepare patent applications (I do not work with that firm).

Based on my experience, that is a very reasonable price to prepare a patent application.

It is true - money is made in litigation. But it takes time and effort to prep and prosecute patent applications.

One question to ask would be if that $4200 also includes the USPTO filing fees.

Also, keep in mind that filing is just the start. If you actually want a granted patent, it will cost you money to have the firm respond to office actions, and then there are the fees to maintain the patent once it is allowed. You can find the USPTO fees on the website.

This process takes expertise if you want to have anything to show for your efforts.

Once you publicly disclose your invention or offer it for sale, it is no longer eligible for patent protection. So, from the attorney's perspective, time is of the essence.