Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Any tax lawyers/accountants in the building?

1,233 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Fightin_Aggie
CrottyKid
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I am a college professor. Usually we write grant proposals, and, if we win, the money goes to the university who is happy to administer the funds after taking their share for "overhead".

However, I recentlt won a bid for some consulting work. It's not a huge chunk of money (about $30k). Since it is not a grant, I have to be the administrator my self. Here's the catch, I don't want that $30k to be taxable income since I am just going to spend it all on student labor and equipment.

I understand that I should have thought about this before, but I was in a grant mindset. What should I do to stay out of tax trouble when this agency sends me a check for $30,000?

I have thought about registering a non-profit org or something.

Is the amount low enough that none of this even matters?

Any advice appreciated.
TXTransplant
Asking this because I used to be a professsor myself. How can you pay student labor and buy equipment unless you either go through the university (that will take their pound of flesh) or set up some sort of business that can employ the student and own the equipment?

Also, if the student is already employed by the university as an RA or TA, aren't their hours capped? Are they an international student with a student visa? If the student ends up working as your employee, won't you have to pay all of the employer taxes?

Just floating some of the complications I can think of by trying to do this independent from the university when there is student labor involved.
jwoodmd
I'm a professor of medicine and my wife is a professor as well. We both do a fair amount of consulting. Some things you need to do: