Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Accountant help-Work Vehicle

2,257 Views | 27 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by fightingfarmer09
aggiebrother33
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Currently I have a lease vehicle my company "pays" for (I pay $120 per month for personal use), which is about to expire. We now have the option for a $500 per month vehicle allowance, which barely covers a monthly payment for a vehicle, especially adding insurance etc. Am I allowed to write off/depreciate any of my vehicle payment amount, oil changes, maintenance etc. or use the IRS mileage when filing taxes... or nothing since I get the allowance? I work in sales and use my vehicle 99% of the time for work.

Also, if I go this route do I need to hire a CPA or pay someone to help itemize or is there a standard form for this when filing.

Really appreciate the help.
billydean05
Assuming you are a W-2 employee you get no benefit.
jpd301
AG
Quote:

We now have the option for a $500 per month vehicle allowance, which barely covers a monthly payment for a vehicle, especially adding insurance etc.

Is that the only option? $500 allowance or nothing? Can you get just a mileage reimbursement? Seems to me they are screwing you if you really drive a lot for work.

If you really are in the car a lot, pretty much anything more than 35-40 miles a work day on average I think you would be better off if they were reimbursing your mileage. Maybe even less miles per day once taxes are figured in since the $500 allowance is taxable and a standard mileage reimbursement is not.
aggiebrother33
jpd301 said:

Quote:

We now have the option for a $500 per month vehicle allowance, which barely covers a monthly payment for a vehicle, especially adding insurance etc.

Is that the only option? $500 allowance or nothing? Can you get just a mileage reimbursement? Seems to me they are screwing you if you really drive a lot for work.