Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Paying cash for a car

2,601 Views | 30 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by permabull
Frok
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
If I have the cash to pay for a car outright should I do it? My inner Dave Ramsey is saying yes. But I know I've heard some say I could get a low interest rate and invest the money instead. That sounds enticing....but that is assuming I actually do invest the money and not just keep it in my bank account.

Curious what smart money people think. Despite having the cash I am not good at these types of things. I'm just cheap.

Outdoorag011
I would finance it at a low interest rate. I also would normally say pay cash for it but with the way inflation is looking, having a low fixed interest rate is a good way to beat inflation.
jja79
AG
I ordered a new Telluride a few weeks ago and take delivery tomorrow. No way am I taking money out of the market when financing is almost free.
OasisMan
AG
The numbers say finance & invest

However, it depends on how you feel about debt
LatinAggie1997
AG
Low interest rate amd take 75% of the money and put it into crypto ((Sun when they dip belowthe following prices)).
This weekend's prices
60% Cardano ADA : $1.60/token
20% Vechain VET : $.23/token
20% Harmony ONE : $.13/token

Revisit thos thread and these prices Sept 30th.

Baby Billy
AG
Outdoorag011 said:

I would finance it at a low interest rate. I also would normally say pay cash for it but with the way inflation is looking, having a low fixed interest rate is a good way to beat inflation.

Not on a depreciating asset it isn't
ATM9000
AG
Pay cash for a car if you can. Understand the financing argument, but the dirty secret about selling cars is when you talk monthly payments, it changes the convo about a car purchase to 'can I afford it?' Rather than 'is it worth it?'

Cash is the ultimate stick and forces you into some discipline in your decision making.
Bobaloo
I do not like financing a depreciating asset.
TXTransplant