Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Best ways to take advantage of an ESPP

1,633 Views | 10 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by one MEEN Ag
500,000ags
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm new to an ESPP. Seems like a solid deal, but I'm completely unfamiliar with the best ways to take advantage of them as far as taxes, maximizing compensation. My new firm has no 401k match, so I'm considering maximizing the ESPP instead of the 401k.
Diggity
AG
Max it out and sell it as soon as it vests
I bleed maroon
AG
Diggity said:

Max it out and sell it as soon as it vests
Seconded. Then with the proceeds, fund a Roth IRA to the max, then a regular IRA (or 529, if appropriate for your situation).
Casey TableTennis
AG
Is it a qualified or non-qualified ESPP? Before taking anyone's advice on this topic, you need to know/share this. Qualified is most common.
500,000ags
AG
Documentation states it is "generally intended to qualify under S423 of the Internal Revenue Code."

Is that what qualified means?

$30,000 Millionaire
AG
I max the ESPP - $25K annually. I hold the shares though until they become long term capital gains.
Casey TableTennis
AG
Yes, that is a qualified plan. Next up, what is the discount and the formula for how price is determined?

If you are bullish on the company, and the contribution isn't too much of your wealth, it may make sense to hang on for LTCG treatment.

If the discount is relatively high and/or you aren't very bullish on the stock, and/or it is a somewhat high portion of your wealth, and/or you are in lower tax brackets, selling immediately as other suggested is worth considering, despite a likely less favorable tax treatment.

500,000ags
AG
It is 15% off the lowest price of either the first day or last day of the purchase period. I can contribute up to 15% of my salary.

I am bullish on the company.

Casey TableTennis
AG
With the facts presented, my neutral advise is typically selling half immediately, holding the other half for LTCG treatment.