Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Edward Jones

7,409 Views | 97 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by cheeky
Tatem
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Hi, I've never used a Financial planner before and was wondering thoughts on Edward Jones? We move often and they have offices everywhere.
We just moved from TX to OH so I thought maybe a national company would be a better fit for us?

Thanks!
Harkrider 93
AG
I work with EJ. Finding a person who you trust is working the best for your goals is who you want. Once you find that person, stay with them. I don't meet very many clients face to face anymore. Most want to do everything over the phone. You can also do webex.
Tatem
thanks!
FrontPorchAg
Now I will give you the other view of EJ. My company went with them for our retirement accounts and my experience has been pretty mixed. They have never significantly beat the investing I have done on my own. Rarely have my EJ accounts bested the SP 500. I put the minimum in my EJ account and put most of my money else where.

That said. It is occasionally nice to have some one to email when I have bigger financial question about stuff like Cash balance plans, what are tax considerations of various 529s etc.
Most of that stuff I can look up online but it's nice to have someone who can navigate the nuances.
All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others
nactownag
AG
I've been with EJ since 2011 and my father and grandfather have been with EJ starting back in 1981. Maybe a little biased ...but i also have a long term perspective of the firm over generations. I truly believe the culture of the firm is better than any other large firm. We put the clients interest first. Are there bad eggs? Absolutely and they are fired regularly.

I'm proud of the firm I represent.

Now I suggest you find an advisor that also holds a CFP!
Harkrider 93
AG