Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Megacorp to Small business

2,697 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by borski99
Sockerville
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Looking for some input/advice/thoughts.

I am in the middle of interviewing for a job which would have me relocating myself and my family from Houston to Georgia (Alpharetta area). I have a wife who stays home with our 3 young kids.

The new opportunity is a very small business. The owner is in his early 60's, but claims no plans to slow down and is looking to grow. He needs a 2nd hand man to come in and help run the day to day operations as well as help grow. He started & has run this business for a long time and he has overall been very successful. We have previously met on two occasions through a close family connection. He approached me with the opportunity a few months ago.

My background is in corporate finance/strategy with a two year stint in a role in which I was heavily involved with both the sales organization and operations side of the business. I am soon to be 30 yrs old, have a low-six figure base salary + decent profit sharing bonus, solid 401k options, typical big corp medical benefits, 3+ weeks vacation, and overall a lot of flexibility/freedom as well as lots of exposure to the higher-ups in the company. Without sounding full of myself I am overall on a great career path with a bright future in my current organization.

I am basically looking for input on compensation package a move like this would require, pros/cons/risks of going from a fortune ~100 company to a small business like this, things to consider, etc..