Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Dallas and Houston finance Ags

4,081 Views | 16 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by leoj
leoj
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I just decided to take a plunge and worked out a 6 week notice with my current employer. I have been unsatisfied with my work situation for a while now and so I figured I needed to stop sitting around waiting for it to improve.

I'm halfway through my Masters of Finance degree at UTD and have been in the chemicals/supply chain field in progressive positions for the past 8.5 years after I graduated 2010 in ID.

I'm looking for any opportunities to interview for FP&A or investment banking analyst positions in either city. I am in Dallas but originally from Houston and my lease is actually up in two months.

I can provide my resume and more background on my skills, such as excel modeling and working on some R coding on my own, etc. I realize there is a jobs board but this is more relevant for this board and gets more views. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and Gig'em

- Joel
Casey TableTennis
AG
I would suggest checking with the Houston and Dallas CFA societies to see if any upcoming meetings are open to non-members. Should be some connections that can be made at those that at least get you closer to your goals.

There is also a North Texas chapter of the Exit Planning Institute that could be worth exploring. Lots of M&A types are in that, and pretty much everyone in it is well connected to M&A circles.
Diggity
AG
leoj said:

I am in Dallas but originally from Houston and my lease is actually up in two months.

Don't base your career location on your car
leoj
AG
Trust me, I'm basing it on wherever a paycheck is at a good company with a job I'll find interesting and motivating again.

Also thanks for the tips Casey.
DRE06
AG