Business & Investing
Sponsored by

What kind of car should I buy?

3,533 Views | 31 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by suburban cowboy
mrmill3218
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm 29 and I need a new (for me) car. I intend on buying a used one.

I work in construction, have a wife, and we're saving up for a house.

I'm really torn on what to get. The responsible half of me wants to pay cash for a used Camry. The other half of me wants to pay the same amount of money or a little more for something "cooler", that will have more miles on it and require more maintenance unfortunately.

Like I said, I work in construction and know that there may be a downturn coming up after how well it's been doing in Dallas for the last few years.

Should I buy the Camry and not have to worry about maintenance, and so that I can continue to save a lot for a house? Or should I buy what I really actually want?

Note - I'll be paying cash either way. I never want to go into debt for a car.
Martin Q. Blank
How did this inner monologue end up on texags?
62strat
AG
Buy a 4 year old truck. Come on man, you're in construction, do you want to roll up on site in a camry, banging up the undercarriage and then getting stuck in mud?
permabull
AG
deadbq03
AG
I normally think that people are wasting their money when they buy a truck they might only truly need a handful of times a year...

But if you're in construction, you ought to have a truck... but I'd go even older than 4 years.
jwoodmd
Buy a Prius - then the people at the construction sites will take you as seriously as the people on this board are with your question.
62strat
AG
deadbq03 said:

I normally think that people are wasting their money when they buy a truck they might only truly need a handful of times a year...

But if you're in construction, you ought to have a truck... but I'd go even older than 4 years.