Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Bonds

2,327 Views | 13 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by BigJim49 AustinNowDallas
bigtruckguy3500
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Can someone give me the low down on bonds. I was playing around on my investing account and came across all these various bonds. Some have pretty high yields (like 8 or 9%), with credit ratings of BBB or so.

How many of y'all invest in bonds? What types? Do you put it in your IRA? How low of a credit rating do you go?
aggiebrad94
AG
Investment grade = BBB or better
High yield (junk) = BB or lower

Bonds are fantastic for income. They also can provide a diversification tool to buffer the higher volatility of stocks.

I haven't seen investment grade bonds with that high of yield in quite a while. Can you provide the name & maturity.

RogerEnright
I have some experience with bonds, but I agree with agbrad94, 8% to 9% seems pretty high for investment grade
bigtruckguy3500
Yeah, honestly don't remember what I was looking at the other night just clicking around. I tried looking again and found this

Clicking on some of those I see a coupon rate higher than the yield. I'm not really following much of what's going on here. Trying to learn more.

Monywolf
If the coupon rate is higher than the yield, the bond is trading at a price above par. It will mature at par so the yield to maturity is lower than the coupon.

Nothing wrong with a premium bond if you think interest rates are going higher and want to invest the cash flow at a higher yield. Otherwise, I'd be careful.

As always, if it sounds to good to be true...
aggiebrad94
AG
When you looking at bonds there are several key features to be aware of:

Par = $1,000 per bond in most cases. This is the original issue price AND the price at maturity
Price = ??? bonds trade based on coupon, time to maturity, rating, etc.
Rating = see my post above