Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Purchasing a House - What Percentage Should I Put Down?

6,476 Views | 64 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by rolli111
mrmill3218
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I could put down 10% and still have a decent amount in my savings. However, if I were to put down 20% it would take me a couple more years.

I know that interest rates are low right now.

Other than paying a PMI - is there any downside to only putting down 10%?
Martin Q. Blank
It will make less in a savings account than mortgage interest savings.
Gordo14
I really think you should try to put 20% down if at all possible. Not that I'm an expert as I've never bought a house.
TxAg20
AG
TwoMarksHand
AG
Martin Q. Blank said:

But possible not if you factor in PMI
AggieFrog
AG
I'd look into an 80-10-10 and then paying off the 2nd as quickly as possible.

That's what we did with our first home to avoid PMI and had the 2nd paid off relatively quickly. And note that once you finish paying off the 2nd, just keep paying that extra towards your 30 year mortgage to pay it off early.
combat wombat™
AG
How much you got?

Not having a mortgage is AWESOME!!
Martin Q. Blank
TwoMarksHand said:

Martin Q. Blank said:

But possible not if you factor in PMI
eh?
mrmill3218
AG
AggieFrog said:

That's what we did with our first home to avoid PMI and had the 2nd paid off relatively quickly. And note that once you finish paying off the 2nd, just keep paying that extra towards your 30 year mortgage to pay it off early.

I'm not familiar with the 80-10-10 loan.
IrishTxAggie
AG
mrmill3218 said:

AggieFrog said:

I'm not familiar with the 80-10-10 loan.
10% Down
80% 1st Mortgage
10% 2nd Mortgage
Jay@AgsReward.com
Sponsor
AG