Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Tips for negotiating compensation plan

1,652 Views | 6 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by jbone3515
jbone3515
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
At work I have been transitioning into a consulting/sales role. I am a non-PE Mechanical Engineer in the AEC space. My focus has primarily been production work, so I'm straight salary. Now I'm interacting more with clients and trying to win work. At the first of December I have an annual review and we will negotiate a new compensation plan. Any tips on what to ask for? My main focus is commissions off of consulting services and product sales. Thanks!
tamc93
AG
Questions to prepare you - Every company is different, but most of the points below are standard in consulting.

• What is your current general structure (Salary, Bonus, Profit Sharing, 401K match, insurance)?
  • What have they shared with you in the past or have you heard?
  • How large is the firm and how much are you "winning yourself"?
  • What is your billing rate?
  • What is your billing percentage?
  • Do your peers have a PE?
  • Do you ever plan on running your own business?

When I was with a larger firm, those were the factors we used to look at promotions, bonus, etc. and when we were hiring mid and senior level people.

FJB, FPA, and FAZ
GenericAggie
AG
At the fiscal year, your comp plan should 100% transition from base to base+variable. That alone should increase your pay by a large amount.

If base currently = 100K and the new plan is 60/40, you should get a 40K increase. Your base pay should not go down. That's not acceptable.

Good luck!
jbone3515
AG
tamc93 said:

Questions to prepare you - Every company is different, but most of the points below are standard in consulting.

• What is your current general structure (Salary, Bonus, Profit Sharing, 401K match, insurance)?