Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Part time Engineering

1,354 Views | 4 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by tamc93
Tex_Ag_2017
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Is it possible to contract engineer yourself out for 5-10 hours a week and work from home? I have looked into Upwork and it seems decent. Has anyone ever worked part time as an engineer? How do you find side jobs like this? I have a full time 40 hour a week job and I wouldn't mind working more but we don't get any extra for working extra because it is not expected.
JDCAG (NOT Colin)
AG
As a software engineer, I've looked at it before, but it seemed like you'd be doing work for an amount that just wasn't worth it to me for the amount of time it would take.

I never dug into it too deeply, so hopefully, somebody else can provide more info.
BenTheGoodAg
AG
What state? In Texas you need a PE License, firm number, probably insurance. Probably true for most states in some form. You can make some decent money doing it, depending on the industry.

Edit - also, does your employer have a moonlighting policy (especially if you use a PE License in your profession).
07&09Ag
What the above poster said.

Note the Texas firm registration is pretty simple and cost $25. I did this a few years back when I was approached by someone. Was actually just an owners engineer reviewing a licensed engineers work and confirming pay apps. Did the one job and then let everything expire as I really didnt and still don't intend try and make any true gig out of it. Not sure how you could go about finding one off jobs but it seems like it would be a headache.

Lone Stranger