Business & Investing
Sponsored by

CPA wanting to gain tax experience

1,330 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by viper14
canadianAg
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
As the title says, I'm a recently licensed CPA but have spent my entire time in O&G in Houston (Katy) and am not an accountant by background. My undergrad is Finance and have worked entirely in Finance. However, I'd like to gain tax experience, particularly individual & small business. Any recommendations on how to go about this while continuing to work my full-time job? I do intend to take several CPE courses in this area but was hoping to also get some real experience.

LOYAL AG
AG
Tax work is extremely seasonal. You might be able to work for a small CPA who would be willing to offload some work to you during the busy season as long as you were clear that he needed to be responsible for reviewing your work. I'm talking about a guy that may be the only CPA in the office and hires a bookkeeper to do light bookkeeping, payroll, things like that. I know a couple of guys like that in BCS but nobody in Houston. I don't know if either of the ones here would be willing to do that kind of arrangement.
JustPanda
AG
Seidel Schroeder is great. Aggie owned and operated, and a great reputation.
canadianAg
AG
I'm honestly not even looking to get paid, just looking for some flexibility and an opportunity to learn.
Ag12thman
AG
It has been a good while, but you and I had discussed some items concerning the CPA Exam in the past. Not trying to derail your thread at all, but I was wondering if you could possibly share what you used to prepare for the Exam. Did you wind up going with Becker? If so, how do you feel it prepared you and did you have any trouble passing any of the sections? Just curious!

Congratulations on getting your license, by the way! Thanks.
Ag12thman
AG