Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Domestic Freight/Transportation Costs

1,741 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by AgLA06
tsuag10
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Anyone here directly dealing with trucking, logistics, etc. in their job? (Domestic)

I work in sales for a distributor, so rising freight costs are a pretty big deal to me and my customers.

Costs have been creeping up slowly over the past year or so and I don't know the historical trends (I've only been in this job for 1 yr). Are transportation costs expected to continue to rise and probably never come back to reasonable levels?

How soon do we expect to see adoption of automation/"driver-assisted" type technology?

Is trucking a dying industry?

Thoughts?

TIA.
JSKolache
AG
No way trucking is dying. Truckers - maybe. There is a massive shortage of drivers, and no one young wants to do it. As long as we keep buying more stuff from China shipped in containers (prediction: we will), then trucking needs will keep growing. Finding the folks to drive is the limiting factor...
AgLA06
AG
The cost is only going to rise along with transport times. Electronic tracking and logs are going to force drivers to follow the rules.
dc509
AG
Trucking definitely isn't a dying industry, but when driverless cars finally hit the road in a meaningful way the next move will be in 18 wheelers. Both of which will probably happen faster than we realize.
Matsui
AG
The reason freight rates have gone up in the last year is because of the new electronic log book regulations. It should start leveling out this year.

I hire trucks on a daily basis.
Agof88
AG
Fuel is a major driver of shipping cost and the price for diesel is close to 20% above 12 months ago and forecasted to climb.
Foamcows
AG