Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Rookie Advice

2,125 Views | 17 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Lot Y Tailgate
BB675
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Looking to start doing some investing. I am a young professional without a lot of assets. Wanting to do something with some money in savings. This would be very small scale, maybe $10,000-$15,000. Thinking about mutual funds but would like some advice from veterans. Thanks!
Ragoo
AG
Before anyone jumps in to offer advice, first give us some background on your current finances and what your goal ultimately is for this 10-15K.

emergency savings?
company 401(k) - match?
ROTH IRA?
HSA?

TwoMarksHand
AG
Ragoo said:

Before anyone jumps in to offer advice, first give us some background on your current finances and what your goal ultimately is for this 10-15K.

emergency savings?
company 401(k) - match?
ROTH IRA?
HSA?
Agree with background needed.
My order of retirement/saving/investment planning:
Meet company 401k match
Max Roth IRA
Money into HSA
Contribute more to 401k (hopefully one day Max)
Anything post tax goes to Vanguard account
BB675
AG
This is just $10-$15k sitting in a low interest savings account.

I am currently meeting company's 401k match
No Roth IRA
No HSA
Ragoo
AG
without a stated goal, I would take $5,500 of it and open a ROTH. Then buy a mutual fund. My ROTH is with Fidelity and I buy strictly FCNTX and have been since 2011.

With the remaining 10K, I would wait until January 1 and then make your 2018 ROTH contribution buying the same mutual fund. Finally with your last 5K I would keep it in savings.
BB675
AG
As for a stated goal I guess it would just be to build wealth.
Ragoo
AG
cloeren13 said:

As for a stated goal I guess it would just be to build wealth.