Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Anyone a Certified Financial Planner?

2 Views | 16 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Harkrider 93
Dr. Spaceman
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Recently, I've been thinking about trying to become a CFP and wanted to know if any posters were in this or similar fields and how they liked it.

I graduated with a degree in finance but really didn't have much passion for it and my job since then has had nothing to do with that. However, I've had some major life changes recently and have been considering a change in my career. It all started with a convo between my gf's sister and BIL about personal finances. I've always been pretty frugal and don't fall in to the same dumb spending habits that others my age tend to make. However, I realized how foolish I had been with my investments (or lack thereof) and that my net worth could be a lot more at this stage in my life if I had done even a little bit of research. But through this convo my interest piqued and I started to enjoy learning about finances and what it takes to become financially secure/independent.

And then I started thinking about it as a potential career. I talked to a fee only financial advisor and she explained to me the difference between that and an advisor who gets paid based off of investment products and the conflict of interest that could result. All this was new to me but I thought becoming a fee only advisor could be a rewarding career. Not only is it a job where I could apply everything to my own life but the thought of helping people with their economic situations seems appealing.

I've just moved to a new city and would love any advice anyone has for me about the best steps to take. Should I try and get a job selling financial products just to get my foot in the door? Is it best to try and get certified first or are companies likely to help pay for this? Most importantly, is it an enjoyable career?

TIA for any info