Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Anyone buy/sell stuff bought on Alibaba?

1,465 Views | 4 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Sling Blade
rlb28
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Have looked at that site a couple times and it's interesting.
DallasAggie0
I know of a guy that built a business on there. If you can find the right niche and market the product right and a lot of hard work you can become a millionaire. There are online tutorials that will guide how to do it.
AgBank
AG
I am about to start researching this for a semi-trailer parts niche.

If anyone has links to best practices, I would appreciate it.
corndog04
AG
/r/entrepreneur has had some really good posts on it over the years.

I've bought a few items, but Im far from an expert. A few things off the top of my head:

Contact lots of suppliers. Use only gold suppliers with transaction history. Watch closely for scams, if something is too good to be true it is. See if the suppliers have standalone webpages and see what else you can find out about them outside of Alibaba. Shipping sucks, you have your choice of overly complicated or insanely expensive (or both). Always get samples, and depending on the part consider hiring a 3rd party inspector for production orders. Many suppliers are middlemen, verify they are making your part in their own factory or else you are being overcharged.
aggieland09
AG
About 6 or 7 years ago I bought 11K worth of parking garage sensors & monitoring system for a construction project. Found the company on Alibaba and contacted them directly for information and installation guides. The company was very helpful and had reputable projects all over Asia. We were worried for about 4 months if we had been taken for 11K because freight was shipped in a boat from China and took a long time from payment until we received the materials. Everything worked out well for us and the company & alibaba was easy to work with.