Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Cost of app developer

955 Views | 5 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Century Tree Designs
bmks270
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
What do good freelance developers charge per hour?

Jabe Allen
Mobile app developer (iOS/Android) or web application developer?

A good web developer is going to use a project rate of somewhere around $100/hour. A mobile app developer is going to likely be higher because of the more specialized development requirements. Keep in mind that many developers are going to charge for a project on a "flat rate" basis, meaning they will estimate and quote the price of the full project and you will pay the exact amount proposed (unless the project becomes out of scope of the proposed functionality and features). Flat rate projects are usually still based on a developer's standard hourly rate, however, so the information still applies.

For full disclosure, I am a full-time freelance web developer with just over 8 years experience. At a minimum I try to stick between $75 and $100 an hour on everything I do (flat rate estimates, hourly projects, etc.). Web and mobile development is very much a "you get what you pay for" kind of thing.

I'd be more than happy to talk more about it if you have questions! You can email me at jaime [at] jabeallen.com any time.
AliasMan02
AG
We've been trying to get through the weeds on this topic for a while. So much so that or focus might shift away from developing our software and to trying to establish a brokerage that vets developers and offers contract/RFP/NDA/etc support to designers and helps them get together.

There are a lot of snakes and cheats in the development world, on all sides. Tough to find good people with the expertise and follow through.
Jabe Allen
Quote:

There are a lot of snakes and cheats in the development world, on all sides. Tough to find good people with the expertise and follow through.