Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Graphic Design Business

968 Views | 7 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by Rebar
ClassOf17
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Hey guys, first time posting in this forum so I apologize if this is not the right place or anything.

I am a graphic designer in central Texas and a huge Aggie fan; although I did not attend A&M. I'm 23 and work for a large corporate company in the marketing department. Ive been there for two years and don't see much of a chance to advance in the company as for there's only me and my supervisor at the moment.. obviously I want to hold a higher position, but more importantly, showcase my skillls that I know are great, but not needed for my current job. I've received multiple offers, one with a MLB baseball team, but turned them down because I want to start my own. So I've been brainstorming for a while now about starting my own freelance/agency firm...

I don't have anyone knowledgeable enough to guide me, and I was wondering if you guys could give me a few pointers to help set me in the right direction. I basically can make anything digitally, from sports programs, to logos, to apparel. I want to create logos and campaigns for corporate companies as well, but I understand that most would want someone a little older than me to design for them. If you have any pointers for me, I will greatly appreciate them.

Thank you all so much.

Gig em!
The Wonderer
AG
Form what I know of the marketing/design world, your portfolio is what gets you in the door unless a company is looking solely at prices.

Working for a graphic design/marketing company would probably help get your name out there a little faster with some secondary support/mentorship available for your growth.
ClassOf17
Exactly. I'm not exactly an entry level, and I'm very confident in my work. I guess what I'm asking is, does anyone have any pointers as to where to start when starting your own business?
The Wonderer
AG
ClassOf17 said: