Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Home Office Deduction Questions...

3,654 Views | 28 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by Carnwellag2
Millner5220
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Have a question for you CPAs, or anyone who knows more than I do on the subject...

In the past year, I began working for a small consulting company based out of Atlanta. I, however, am based out of my house in DFW, and simply travel to clients office when not working from the house.

Since this is my first year filing taxes as someone who works from home, I am curious how much I am able to claim. I am a W-2 employee, and the company does have an office in Atlanta, so its not like we are a completely virtual based company. I do have a room specifically used as an office, and have misc. expenses that I do not submit for reimbursements.

Thanks for the help

combat wombat™
AG
Read this:

IRS - home office info

Quote:

1. Regular and Exclusive Use.
You must regularly use part of your home exclusively for conducting business. For example, if you use an extra room to run your business, you can take a home office deduction for that extra room.

2. Principal Place of Your Business.