Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Owe the IRS?!

6,306 Views | 52 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by 94chem
Guppy
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Wife and I were staring to file our taxes today on our own. Married (filed jointly) no kids, renting (saving for a house) and no major deductions - save for my work (I'm an airline pilot and I can deduct a fair amount).

We together earn a good income, but how is the IRS wanting almost another $1800?!?! We've paid over 19k in federal taxes alone. This is a huge shock since we got back a bit last year (I did earn significantly more this year however).

Did I screw myself over by paying off student loans early and waiting to buy a house? If we don't buy a house next year and continue to just save, how can I avoid this pitfall? Any solutions, save going to a professional to file my taxes? Mostly, I want to avoid this again in the future so any advice is helpful.

Many thanks
SWCBonfire
AG
Get another loan that has interest that is tax deductible (mortgage, school, related to business expense)
Buy property for business use that can be depreciated
Have a kid/have another kid
Increase contribution to 401(k) or IRA
RK
AG
Quote:

this is never a solution to coming out ahead on anything other than heartburn and hair loss...
histag10
AG
RK said:

Quote:

this is never a solution to coming out ahead on anything other than heartburn and hair loss...

Its a solution for coming out ahead on your taxes. Especially if you have Obamacare. Deduct medical expenses (over 10% of AGI), get the child tax credit, and deduct child care expenses.

I'm not saying you dont end up losing in the long run, but it does help you come out ahead on taxes, at least for a few years.

Answer for OP- Invest more in IRA/Roth IRA? See if there is a pre tax first time homebuyer savings plan in your state (thought this will likely only reduce your state income tax)?
Squirrel Master
AG