Business & Investing
Sponsored by

Lending Club or Prosper?

11,710 Views | 54 Replies | Last: 7 yr ago by themissinglink
Ag92NGranbury
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
getting really tired of getting no returns on cash in bank...

anyone on the board use either Lending Club or Prosper for peer to peer lending for increased %'s?

good or bad experiences?
jagged
AG
Interesting and compelling concept, but as far as I know in Texas you can't invest in these due to state regulations. You can invest only by trade existing loans I believe which didn't seem like a great proposition.
CrossBowAg99
AG
Unsupported. Thank you for your interest in Prosper. Due to state restrictions, Prosper is currently unavailable in TX . You'll be the first to know if this changes.
sawemoffshort07
AG
I want to get in on this but as stated above, not allowed in Texas
Ag92NGranbury
AG
well that stinks... I wonder if it is something that texas is evaluating... I'm sure that the bank lobby is all over this
Roger That
AG
Some banks are investing in these types of companies
sawemoffshort07
AG
Anyone know about the "blue sky" exemption with the IPO of Lending Club?
Ag92NGranbury
AG
http://www.lendacademy.com/why-some-states-dont-allow-p2p-lending-investments/
jschroeder
Did it back when it was legal in TX.

The default rate on anything with an interest rate over 5% was insane.
sts7049
AG
you can invest with lending club in tx. i do it right now. the difference is that when you want to buy/sell a note it takes you to an outside website to do the transaction (folio investing). but you still buy/sell notes the same way as you would expect, earn interest, etc.
sawemoffshort07
AG
Just got an email from Lending Club saying they are now live in Texas...
ac04
just opened an account
agmatt06
AG
I got the email from Lending Club too..

So what does that mean for somebody who hasn't done much research into this?
sts7049
AG