Red River, NM

3,142 Views | 21 Replies | Last: 1 yr ago by East Dallas Ag
rebel06
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Headed to Red River later this month with the family. Any recommendations on things to do, places to visit, restaurants, etc.? Our boys enjoy fishing. Any good places to take them? We also enjoy hiking and would like to know of any good trails. TIA
FarmerJohn
AG
How old are the boys? I'm no expert but have made a couple trips.

1. Hiking - There is a trail just on the other side of town that is pretty easy, but a little boring. Mallet Park is a little more fun to explore for young kids. Plus they have a more young kid friendly playground. For old kids, closer to 8-10, Middlefork Lake is a great hike and much more exciting. Parking is limited near the trail head so get there early (or an off day) or you get an extra mile of hiking along the road from the highway. The road to Middlefork isn't the greatest, so you might choose to hike in anyway. It's a good morning if you just go to the falls and the crossing. It's a "pack a lunch" hike if you go up to the lake proper.

2. Food - There is one grocery store in town and selection is limited. If you are picky or have favorites, might want to bring it. The biggest is the brewery. Get on the waiting list online before heading over. The best food is Brett's. T-bucks is the best breakfast. Not everyone is open every day and staffing is a problem in the post Covid era.

3. Fishing - I'm no help there.
turfman80
AG
For hiking, check out Middle Fork Lake outside Taos Ski Valley.
Yeah, well, sometimes nothing is a real cool hand
ChoppinDs40
AG
Texas Red's for dinner. Shotgun willies for breakfast. Take the ski lift up, drink a beer and hike down.

Rent a side by side and go up to greenie peak. Your boys will effing love that.

Get wasted at the Mother Lode. Do "cowboy dinner" up at Bobcat Pass.