Alaska/Denali/Kenai NP suggestions

2,076 Views | 18 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by AlaskanAg08
ol'Porkbelly
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
We're going to Alaska this summer for two weeks. The first week we are renting an RV and doing Denali NP (already secured a site at Tek River Campground) then we are driving east along the Denali Highway towards Paxton and Wrangel-St. Elias NP before returning the RV in Anchorage.
The second week we are spending on the Kenai Peninsula and looking into renting a house in Homer and/or Seward.

A few questions I have:

1) Any recommendations on how to get in/explore Wrangle St. Elias? We have 3 kids (11, 9, 6) who love to do the Jr. Ranger Programs at all the National Parks we go to. Unfortunately it seems W-S.E. is pretty hard to get into from the northwest area where we will be. Anyone explored that area?

2) My wife and I like to fly fish but are complete novices. Any half-day guide suggestions in Kenai or elsewhere? I'd love to catch a big King Salmon but don't really like the idea of combat fishing amongst a big crowd.

3) We'd like to do a flight-seeing tour too. Thought about one around Denali but maybe something that lands on a glacier in Kenai.

4) What is the best way to see the fjords via watercraft? We're traveling with another family so there will be 9 of us total. I like the idea of kayaking but also figured a boat would allow us to see more.

5) Any other suggestions on the area?
Pro Sandy
AG
3) We'd like to do a flight-seeing tour too. Thought about one around Denali but maybe something that lands on a glacier in Kenai.

I used K2 Aviation out of Talkeetna. https://www.flyk2.com/

Our flight was to land on a glacier, but weather prevented the landing. Did get to see lots of wildlife and even Denali. Potential to get both of what you want, glacier landing and seeing Denali.

BQ2001
AG