Always mention the teacher discount!

1,752 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by newhowdyag2004
newhowdyag2004
How long do you want to ignore this user?
My wife and I want to stay at the Marriott Marquis in Houston for the Tool concert in October. With the baby we haven't traveled much, so I said lets go crazy and stay there Sat/Sun night (will use Venture miles to pay).

The price would normally be $980, but I mentioned my wife is a teacher and now it's $311 total! I'm floored at the $600 dollar savings (that's why I came here gushing)!

What would be your favorite place to eat on a Sunday near the Toyota Center?
JMac03
AG
Are teachers considered state employees? If so Marriott will usually honor it in any state and you can find this rate when booking. Note it's not always available and it's not always the cheapest. I used to use it often before I was a travel agent. Hilton has it too but will only work in Texas, they won't honor a TX state employee in California. Just make sure when booking it's the state rate and not the federal one.
CanyonAg77
AG
Congrats, but I find the whole discount thing disgusting. Just give me the lowest possible rate without having to be a member of some group.
62strat
AG
CanyonAg77 said:

Congrats, but I find the whole discount thing disgusting. Just give me the lowest possible rate without having to be a member of some group.
Oh so we should all just get the military discount huh?

'Teacher' rate is probably gov rate, which marriott has on all their properties (also have military). I just booked a hotel in vegas and saved 25% because my bro in law is coming who is military. Why not?

To OP, 70% off seems like something else is going on.. are you sure you're comparing apples to apples?

CanyonAg77
AG
62strat said:

CanyonAg77 said:

Don't invent things I didn't say.
62strat
AG
CanyonAg77 said:

62strat said:

CanyonAg77 said:

Don't invent things I didn't say.