Hawaii trip in late January

1,258 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by nosoupforyou
Zigzig
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Just starting to plan 10 day trip to Hawaii in late January. My wife and I had honeymoon in Maui 30 years ago, and not that fired up about going back except we would really like to see whales, so would be willing to spend a short time in Maui just for that. We do not like tourist traps and prefer quite areas with some easy hiking, good scenery, and probably a little snorkeling and maybe scuba diving for me. Love nature and outdoor stuff. No desire to go to Oahu.

Seems like Big Island would be good place to spend 4-5 days (I'm a geologist so would love to see volcano area!)

Not sure about the other island (Kauai), seems like some people love it and others find it too boring.

If someone has done a similar length trip and has any ideas on how to spend time I'd love hearing about your experiences. We live in Austin area so would be flying from here. Thx in advance!
TXTransplant
We spent 10 days on the Big Island this past June. I rented an Airbnb house right on the ocean on the east side of the island that was absolutely gorgeous and more affordable than any hotel in the area. I can give you the link if interested. I'm pretty sure you will see whales from the house balcony.

We were unable to visit the Volcanoes National Park because it was closed due to the eruption, but there were several companies offering guided hikes to see the lava flow that I was interested in. We also did a lava boat tour (unfortunately we missed the lava ocean entry by about 12 hours), went ziplining, and drove up to the Waipio Valley. At Waipio Valley, we did the hike to the black sand beach and then did an ATV tour of the rim. I highly recommend all of these activities.