London and Paris

11,785 Views | 72 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Matsui
dylan
How long do you want to ignore this user?
We are going to spend five days in London and then five days in Paris in mid May. Any recs on tours, places, eating? We will use the Eurostar to Paris. I've heard we can book that early and also booking the Eiffel Tower early makes sense. Any other thoughts? I think I read that for Paris you can buy a museum pass which may make sense to avoid lines.
beachfront71
AG

Check out St James hotel and Club in London then stay at the George V in Paris and you will be set.

Get your rail passes early as last minute ones are more expensive than the plane ride
JMac03
AG
Before I was a travel agent I used this website (and still do!) for information for traveling overseas. He talks about how to travel all over Europe.

Short story long, he talks about how you can possible do "Snap Fares" on the Eurostar - I did this and saved about half of what it would cost on the train (I was on a budget when I did my trip). But I would probably recommend just buying full price as early as possible as they will be cheaper than if you wait closer to your trip.

https://www.seat61.com/London-to-Paris-by-train.htm#Fares

When I did the Snap fares I saved quite a bit of money. The downfall is that you do not pick the exact time, you pick "morning" or "evening". If you pick morning good chances you are on the 5:40AM train as they are filling trains that have not sold out, so it would be rare for you to be on a peak train time. (I was on the 5:40AM train)

Quote:

• You can buy these cheap Eurostar Snap tickets at https://snap.eurostar.com from 25 each way:
    - Go to https://snap.eurostar.com, you must sign up using Facebook or Twitter.
    - Booking opens as much as 30 days in advance and closes 7 days in advance.
    - You specify a date and specify morning or afternoon. The site shows which dates are available.