Rangers: a true big market team?

9,678 Views | 102 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by powerbelly
AggieEP
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Notice I didn't say Astros management, it's meant as a blanket statement as several clubs have attempted astros style demolitions while preaching the process to their fans. I'm not a fan of billionaires exploiting and manipulating the trust of their teams fans. And although I'm a pro analytics guy, I kind of agree with Evan Longoria, analytics have turned guys like him into the enemy and the fans have adopted the same thinking. WAR captures a lot of the value of a player but it misses the sentimental side of the game by dehumanizing ball players into numbers. I don't want mlb to turn into the nfl where 3/4 of the roster turns over every year, baseball is a personal game especially to young fans and it pays dividends to have stars like biggio and Bagwell play their whole careers with one team. Just like now I hope trout and Betts and bregman never change teams. It's good for them game.

And as for the dodgers, world series champs or bust trash talk is lame, the goal is to build a sustainable club capable of competing for a championship year after year. Sometimes you run into a better/hotter team like the dodgers have two times in a row, doesn't mean the season was worthless.
mhayden
I agree with many of your points that stars not leaving their team is good for the game.

But that goes both ways too. If Bregman wants to stay an Astro for life, he has that ability. But come free agent time I bet he's looking to get paid, and eventually that leads to teams having to make decisions on who to keep and who to let go.
94chem