HOU@TEX Trash Talking Thread

430,901 Views | 3968 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Charlie Conway
mhayden
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I'd almost lean towards his size being an asset not a question mark. I'm no doctor, but in regards to health I'd assume a smaller frame leads to less injury in a baseball environment.

If it was football or basketball, yeah... He's gonna get knocked on his ass and that will take a toll. But MLB is a non-contact sport and very much skewing more in that direction.

Opposite ends of the spectrum obviously, but you've got tiny Altuve on one side and a massive Prince Fielder or Chris Davis on the other... Who is a better long-term bet from a health perspective?
PacifistAg
AG
Fair point. Perhaps I'm wrong. Either way, the Astros better be willing to spend big because he's going to become a very, very rich man.
mhayden
quote:
From an Astro fan...Pretty well said.

And on top of that, the obsession we (the front office and some of my brethren) have with prospects is absurd. They take pride in having a stacked farm while the ML club struggles.

They've got to find a way to turn those prospects into big league assets either through successful trades or successful development. Only time will tell, and in my opinion the clock is ticking and they are running out of it. Not saying the timer is going off now, but it's got one, maybe two more years left for me.

Texas fans were like that when they weren't successful on the big league side of things as well. Jamey Newberg told us every day that DVD was going to be a trio that could be compared to the Braves' Maddux/Glavine/Smoltz.

Danks hasn't looked good since 2010.

Volquez is going to be 34 next year and has 3 good seasons to show for it.

Diamond hasn't seen a major league field since the last time Danks looked good.