Catching a soccer game in Barcelona

2,752 Views | 23 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by snowdog90
09Ag
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
My gf and I are going to be in Barcelona for a few days, and I've always wanted to go to see a game in Europe. I have very little knowledge of European soccer, however. We'll get there on 4/14, so it looks like Barcelona is playing away from home. However, I noticed the team RCD Espanyol is playing Deportivo Alves in Barcelona on that day. Would this be a good game to see? Any tips about the stadium or where to get tickets? Good location to sit in the stadium? Obviously I don't know what I'm doing, so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!
MB19
AG
Go, try to get tickets. Just walk up and take your chances.
TXAggie2011
AG
Looks to me like you might be able to buy tickets on Espanyol's website. Just do that.

Espanyol has a very nice stadium known to have a terrific atmosphere, and that will be top flight European soccer. Do it!
09Ag
AG
Ok thanks! I had been checking their website, but it looks like they don't release game time and tickets until about 2 weeks prior to the match.
MB19
AG
Good luck to you. If successful, we expect a post game report.
09Ag
AG
Will do. Should be a unique experience if it pans out.
spence10
AG
I've been to 4 Barca soccer games - for 3 of them I bought tickets off Viagogo.

Definitely tour the museum and hit up the shop. Might want to go earlier in the day or a different day altogether to avoid the massive crowd.
09Ag
AG
You are referring to Barca and not Espanyol, correct? Barca is not playing at home while we are there, just Espanyol.
spence10
AG
09Ag said:

You are referring to Barca and not Espanyol, correct? Barca is not playing at home while we are there, just Espanyol.

My mistake - yes I'm referring to Barca.
09Ag
AG