Texas A&M Football
Sponsored by

Bally sports going bankrupt

17,774 Views | 71 Replies | Last: 2 mo ago by DustysLineup
45-70Ag
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG

Best sporting news there will be this year.
Aston04
AG
Always was a horrible name for a network.
Hehateme1
Good
Iowaggie
AG
So does Amazon or YTTV or someone pick them up?
greg.w.h
AG
More color:

https://www.msn.com/en-us/sports/mlb/sinclair-s-diamond-sports-group-continues-its-march-toward-bankruptcy/ar-AA16MB1T
Divining Rod
Fox sports southwest had a great texas high school football program. these people ruined it, so F them.
Texker
AG
Well deserved.
twk
AG
I'm not a bankruptcy lawyer, but this is the key part:

Quote:

Meanwhile, pro teams relying on TV rights revenue from their deals with the 19 Bally Sports RSNs will face severe belt-tightening, since rights deals with them can be terminated amid the restructuring.

For example, MLB's St. Louis Cardinals have been identified(opens in new tab) as a franchise likely to take one of the hardest blows, since so much of its revenue comes from RSN TV rights.
Sinclair was losing money on every one of it big league contracts, and, as part of the bankruptcy, will have the right to terminate those contracts, which will almost certainly happen. That means we could be in for a mad scramble for teams to work out something in relatively short order (maybe several months).

Bottom line for TV: If you are signed up for a certain cable, satellite, or streaming provider primarily because that carrier includes a package with a Bally channel that carries your local team, be prepared for that to go away.
TopoTacos
AG
Good. I know more than a few people in smaller pro-sports markets who have been unable to watch their state's teams through a terrible Venn diagram of national blackout restrictions and Bally's ineptitude.