Story Poster
Photo by Jamie Maury, TexAgs
Texas A&M Football

Devon Achane opens up about decision to enter 2023 NFL Draft

December 30, 2022

Devon Achane announced that he is forgoing his remaining eligibility at Texas A&M to enter the 2023 NFL Draft, where he could be one of the first tailbacks selected. In an exclusive interview courtesy of Pintail Hunting Club, Achane discusses that decision and much more.

Key notes from Devon Achane interview

• I started training. I went up to Dallas from Dec. 11-21. We have a little break, but I’ll be back there on Jan. 1. It’s different because I would usually be doing track during this part of the year. Right now, it’s just straight football. My body is still in football shape. It’s new to me, and it’s my first time since the ninth grade nothing running track after football season. That is new, but other than that, it's basically just training.

• When I really train, I don't think I put on that much weight. I can tell I've picked up some since the end of the year, and that's something I always knew would happen if I stopped running track and just focused on football. The place I train is telling me my diet is not that good. They’re trying to keep me balanced with gaining weight but not losing my speed. I'm not really a vegetable guy, and I drink protein shakes. I cannot be eating unhealthy food all the time. I eat a lot of wings. I couldn't give those up.

• I'm trying to run the 40 in 4.2 something at the NFL Combine. You get multiple tries, but if I get 4.2 on my first one, I think I'd be in a pretty great spot.