Texas A&M Football
Sponsored by

Regarding our Kicking game...

3,432 Views | 20 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by 67walkon
TAMU74
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
it was on this date in 1976 that the great Tony Franklin kicked 2 NCAA record field goals of 64 and 65 yards against those hapless bears for a 24-0 victory.
You think coach Teaff is still pissed?
He was institutional in changing the rules regarding "missed" FG's, but I don't recall if he was regarding the elimination of the kicking tee.on FG's.
Sharpshooter
AG
TAMU74 said:

it was on this date in 1976 that the great Tony Franklin kicked 2 NCAA record field goals of 64 and 65 yards against those hapless bears for a 24-0 victory.
He was institutional in changing the rules regarding "missed" FG's, but I don't recall if he was regarding the elimination of the kicking tee.on FG's.

I was there as a Fish.
AgDadJP
The 64 yarder was into the wind!
Craigy
I was a sophomore in high school and listened to the game on radio. I was recording the game at the time and I still have. Someday I will get this and other games You can hear us yelling in the background.
NavyAg92
AG
Kicking ass and kicking FGs.
LesterHaze
TAMU74 said:

It's true. The rule change he championed at the time was moving the ball back to the original line of scrimmage from where the FG was attempted on a missed FG. At the time, the ball was always placed at the 20 yard line after a missed FG. Just like a punt touch back into the endzone.

The untold story is that the season immediately before Tony Franklin made those two kicks, Baylor's Bubba Hicks attempted and made a SWC all time record 59 yard FG. Grant Teaff had no problem with the rules that season.

Typical Baptist.
Alpha Texan
AG
AgDadJP said:

I heard it was uphill too
coachbullet
Uwe Johanssen hit a 69 yarder later that day for Abilene Christian. Erxleben (texas) and Steve Little (hogs) hit 67 yarders the following year. Golden age of kicking.
Sharpshooter
AG
AgDadJP said: