Texas A&M Football
Sponsored by

Music after game-winning touchdown

4,500 Views | 23 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by SquawkITag
NedMac
How long do you want to ignore this user?
First time poster. I'm in a community theater group performing "The Best Little *****house In Texas." If that's a sensitive topic for Aggies I apologize but I'm serving as sort of unofficial historian for our group. The script calls for an announcer to broadcast the game-winning touchdown for the Aggies over UT and then it says the Aggie War Hymn is to commence. I'd always understood that the band played "Hot Time" when a TD was scored. Would it make a difference if it was the game winning TD with no time left?
I'm an Illinois grad as is my dad but he graduated from Jefferson High in San Antonio and we spend a couple of weeks a year in central Texas so I do have some remote ties to the state. Thanks for any replies.
Flashdiaz
AG
lol, it's not a sensitive subject.... we won!

I would say it's the same song regardless of time left. Others will chime in with hopefully helpful responses.

and thanks for trying to make the play as accurate as possible.
schmendeler
aggiebrad94
AG
Quote:

lol, it's not a sensitive subject.... we won!
We won! And then scored, and scored, and scored again.
Al Bula
AG
CrottyKid
AG
I don't know what happened back then, but my feeling would be that everyone would go crazy. Then, after some time, everyone would regroup and sing the War Hymn. If anything was played immediately after the TD, it would probably be Hot Time.
p-wonk01
AG
CrottyKid said:

I don't know what happened back then, but my feeling would be that everyone would go crazy. Then, after some time, everyone would regroup and sing the War Hymn. If anything was played immediately after the TD, it would probably be Hot Time.
I'd probably say this. I was in the Aggie Band myself. More than likely we'd all be going crazy and then play hot time. The teams would shake hands and we'd then play the War Hymn.