Found 70 yr old Flags- Japan & 48 star USA- Translator needed

2,652 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Ciboag96
Batzarro
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Hi all,

I recently moved after spending a year living with my in-laws. My daughter wanted us to put up a flag for Flag Day and I remembered receiving a tube of an American flag from my father-in-law during our move.

When I unfurled the flag, I was surprised to see it was a 48 star flag. Also inside was Japanese flag with writing on it.

I have no background info on how my in-laws obtained the flags. My grandfather-in-law fought in the Korean war, as a South Korean soldier. I do not think he fought in WW2 though he was old enough at the time. Japan also occupied Korea for a number of decades until the end of WW2. He also was an antique collector- mainly antique smoking pipes, so these flags could have just been bought during his collecting days.

More Info:

1. The Japan flag might have a little blood stain on it.
2. The Japan flag might say "Japanese spirit" on it. That's the most translating the Korean uncle could give me.
3. The USA flag is maybe wool or linen. The Japan flag seems to be silk.

Help Needed:

1. Are there any Texagers who know Japanese who can translate the writing on the Japan flag?
2. Does anyone know how I can best preserve the flags? I would like to frame the USA flag and do something respectful for the Japan flag.

My uneducated guess:

I think the flags are from the Korean war time period not WW2 because I do not think Japanese would write on their battle/wartime flags. I think the flags were from a sport competition where flags were exchanged, with maybe participants signing them and scribbling mottos.

EDIT: Added Photos

JABQ04
AG
Very cool!
Batzarro
AG

My skewed guess: