Research update

1,600 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Rabid Cougar
aalan94
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Folks, I'm now in year 3.5 (counting my thesis) of research for my book. The first draft of course, is written, and I've been plugging away on the 2nd draft for five months now. Sounds like a lot of time, but it's worked in and around work and family time. I made faster progress while I was overseas because I had uninterrupted time in the evenings in my room to work on it.

I keep hearing folks say I should just stop and declare it done, but I keep finding stuff that is new and a revelation. I've read everything published on the Gutierrez-Magee Expedition so I can say no one's done this before. This week I found a good "smoking gun" that while still circumstantial, is a pretty damn good circumstance to help me make my primary case for the origins of the expedition. I can't really reveal the details here, but I'll explain it with a only half tongue-in-cheek remark that I made to my brother this weekend. "When I'm done," I told him, "People aren't going to say Stephen F. Austin was the father of Texas, they'll say that Aaron Burr was."

Like I said, only an exaggeration of degree. Austin certainly founded the colonies, but the point I'm going to make is that Austin was working in the context of a tradition deeper and more nuanced than people realize.

aalan94
AG