Ideas for US History research projects

1,579 Views | 20 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by titan
et98
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
I'm a US History teacher, and our STAAR tests will be complete next week. This leaves us with about 3 weeks of school to fill before finals. I always have the students (11th grade) complete research projects over any topic pertaining to US History that they want and present it to the class.

It gets very boring watching 150 projects over the same old subjects, so I'm trying to create a list of interesting topics that my less creative students can choose from. I'm not going to let them present over something we've covered in class unless it was something we barely touched on or unless it's a more specific topic within a subject we covered (such as a specific WWII battle or war hero).

Can any of you recommend some historical stories or people since the Reconstruction Era that would be appealing to 17 year olds? Obscure topics or events are probably better than obvious ones since we cover most of those in our curriculum. Very broad topics like "Serial Killers" would be fine. Even risque or controversial topics would be OK up to a point ("The History of the KKK" and "The History of the Weed Legalization Movement" turned out to be pretty solid projects last year). I'm considering the idea of allowing conspiracy theories as well, such as "The Moon Landing Was Fake" if they can present evidence to support it, although I'm not sure if I want to open that can of worms. So if any of you have any common conspiracy theories in mind, feel free to share.

I've made a fairly decent list already, but I need a lot more and I'm pretty tapped out at the moment. I also figured this might be an interesting topic for the History in general.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Smokedraw01
Maybe include the impact certain court cases have had on the way we live our life today. Something along those lines.