The Vietnam War - Ken Burns & Lynn Novick

20,980 Views | 153 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by ABATTBQ87
redag06
How long do you want to ignore this user?
bufrilla said:

As a Vietnam veteran, I will say this, all so called documentaries may have a lot of facts left out to portray the opinion of the individual doing the work. Burns is well noted, but I guarantee it will have a slant. A politician's war, yes. It could have been ended within six months, but hands tied below the DMZ.

Any way, served 13 months as a Platoon Commander with India Company, 3rd Battalion, 3rd Marine Regiment in 1968-1969. Then tour flying F4 Phantoms in 1972-73. Was also the Operations Officer for Task Force Delta out of an Expeditionary Base in Thailand.

I have plenty of hair raising, heart stopping, fast breathing events.

But will tell one about being on RR in Hawaii and was ask to do an interview with the BBC. I said No, but an Army Colonel said it was cleared and that I could do the interview. Well first question was what I thought of the new ROEs. I ask the commentator if he was referring to the "don't fire until fired upon" ROE. He said yes, and I told him straight up that it was a f---ing joke. We were just south of the DMZ, only good guys and bad guys. If I told my point fire team to only engage if fired on, they would be DEAD and I'll be damn if I was allowing that to happen. We know where the friendlies are, so anything we engage are the BAD GUYS, so SHOOT and we'll sort it out. Well, the BBC guy, gulped; the Colonel said interview terminated and I was off to have another BEER.
Political crap like that happened. Remember, only about 1 in 10 troops in Vietnam were actively involved in combat operations.

Semper Fi

bufrilla,

Did your time in 3/3 overlap Col. Harrington's time? Cant remember exactly when he was hit.
bufrilla
AG
redag06 said:

bufrilla said: