Moved to a new city

2,624 Views | 21 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by coyote68
who?mikejones
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Just moved to round rock. As always, I started studying the history of where I live.

I basically live on the Chisholm trail. Sam Bass had his shootout a couple miles as the crow flies. Kenney's fort isn't too far. And the Round Rock is just down the street.

Its this type of stuff that gets me excited.

Random post I know. But i was pretty excited to actually do some digging of the areas near me.
Noblemen06
AG
I hear you...one of my favorite pastimes is digging into the history of the areas the Air Force moves me. It is always an enriching experience and it's made some places fascinating to me where others find them mundane (North Dakota and New Mexico, namely).

In Turkey I lived about 20 minutes from Tarsus and right in the middle of a cluster of Crusader castles. Further afield, I got to learn heaps about Christian, Muslim, and Ottoman history while visiting numerous sights that made my reading come alive.

In Utah, I found the history of western trappers and the Indians, the Donner Party, the Mormons, and the Oregon trail in my proverbial backyard.

Jordan was similar to Turkey in making a lot of Biblical history come alive to me (walking in the same wilderness as Jesus and viewing the promised land from Mount Nebo were especially moving).

I just moved to the heart of Seoul and I'm starting to brush up on Korean history, which I am mostly ignorant to (with two great, Smithsonian-quality museums walking distance from the post gates).
NormanAg
AG
Quote:

In Turkey I lived about 20 minutes from Tarsus and right in the middle of a cluster of Crusader castles. Further afield, I got to learn heaps about Christian, Muslim, and Ottoman history while visiting numerous sights that made my reading come alive.