Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Rocky 50km less than a month after my first marathon?

797 Views | 9 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by 94chem
K Bo
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
If all goes as planned I will have completed the Houston Marathon Jan 14th then I've signed up to run the Rocky 50km Feb 12th. If it matters, for the marathon training I am using a Matt Fitzgerald 80/20 plan. Between the marathon and 50k I was planning on recovering for the work week after the marathon, focusing solely on trails/hills + long runs on weekends for the two weeks leading up to the 50k, and then a taper week the week of the 50k. This will be my first marathon and earlier this year I ran the Hell's Hills 25k. I think this sounds pretty reasonable but I have no experience stacking races, if that's even a thing. What do y'all think?
94chem
Your plan is fine, in theory, if your goal is to finish both races. However, at mile 23 of the marathon, if you are trying for some ambitious time standard, you will be asking yourself why you were so stupid.

As for the 80/20 stuff, maybe that will work for you now that it's fall. I found that in Houston in the summer, I don't need somebody from London telling me to go for 3 hour walks in summer to get my mileage without getting my heart rate too high. Not only is it a waste of time, but it exposes me to the elements needlessly and risks injury from the unnatural motion of walking.

I just had a good summer, never running more than 6.55 miles in the heat, versus the 10 - 15 mile long slow runs that I did last summer. Dropped 10 seconds off my mile too, and didn't lose 7 lbs every Saturday morning.

94chem,
That, sir, was the greatest post in the history of TexAgs. I salute you. -- Dough
htxag09
AG
Biggest error in your plan that I see is there isn't a marathon in Houston on January 14th.
K Bo
AG