Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

IMTX

1,179 Views | 15 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Phat32
htxag09
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
The race finally happened. I started training 26ish months ago for the race in April 2020, then delayed to October 2020, then cancelled and back to April 2021, and once again delayed to October 2021. I feel like I basically did 4 Ironman events, but got one medal. My original goal was 12 hours. It was a reach, but I thought achievable. With the delays and crazy training cycles, having our first son in December 2020, and life, I revised my goal to 14 hours.

Not going to leave a really long race report, but feel free to ask if you have any questions.

Swim: wetsuit optional, didn't wear one. I thought it was fine, people complain about the water quality, it's Houston, Texas, we don't have pretty bodies of water. Tri suit opening around the neck may have been a little large as seaweed came all out of my suit when I took it off to take a shower after the race..... 1:29:22

Bike: I really, really enjoyed the bike. Yes it was hot and windy. But it was nice to just get in aero and ride. I'm used to riding in the city and stopping for traffic, for lights, people, etc. I basically just counted down the miles to get to the turn around and have that tailwind. Then just cruised with that tailwind at my back. 6:09:33

Run: definitely blew up on the run. Legs were hurting, I was hot as hell, throwing ice in my hat every aid station wasn't really helping, and my stomach was getting pretty upset by the lack of solid food. So I started trying what the aid stations had to offer. Chips seemed to work well so I grabbed a cup every aid station and that was able to get me back to running, albeit at a slow pace. Then the chicken broth came out and it was delicious. The crowd support was awesome, completely forgot about the pain and just enjoyed the moment multiple times. 5:58:08