Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Plant based protein powders

2,333 Views | 18 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Gus
bushytailed
How long do you want to ignore this user?
AG
Any recs for plant based protein powders (NOT pea protein) that are tolerable? My cholesterol numbers have gone up again and my doctor wants me to switch from whey to a protein powder that's plant based. HDL is fine; the other numbers aren't.

My current powder is Chike protein coffee and I love it. I'm willing to switch if the plant based option tastes good.
aggielax48
AG
Why would this be a beneficial change?
Aggie_Boomin 21
AG
Agree with the response above.

I'm not a doctor, and I'm sorry this post isn't what you were asking for, but why would whey protein affect LDL or other markers much, if at all?

I'd ask for their rational first since this is pretty inconvenient. Most plant protein powders I've seen are pea, expensive, and low protein density per serving.

If you get a good answer please post it as I am curious why a doctor would suggest this.
bushytailed
AG
Doc claims that she has a couple other patients that made the switch to plant based protein powders, along with some other dietary changes, and were able to lower their levels. Honestly I'm not sure how much the switch from whey came into play. I know I need to change some other things (I snack on a lot of cheese cubes), but I'm willing to try a plant based protein powder if someone recommended it.

Thanks for questioning my question. I'm questioning her rec too.
Farmer1906
AG
I don't know what you're using now, but you could switch to hydrolyzed.

Check the comparison between Gold and Platinum for ON.
txcincinnatus
AG