Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

covid 19 vaccine question

1,020 Views | 5 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by mystix
mystix
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Early on in the quarantine there was a doctors log that was traced back to this forum. I found this place through the conversation that grew from that. It was for a long time the most concise, accurate, and unfiltered set of information available that described the state of care for covid at that time.

So here we are 7 or 8 monthes later. We have several vaccine candidates on the way. I am not a doctor, but I have medical tangent experience as a former EMT and support tech for a medical lab. So I hae healthy respect for the knowledge of doctors, if not much access to them. Through that initial conversation this forum has a selection of people that are more qualified to answer a few questions I have that I havent seen addressed.

We have these vaccines coming close to public use in under a year. Not only 1 is there either. There are 2 Russian ones approved for use there (questionable as that may be). 2 from Operation warpspeed.. more from the Covax initiative. per https://www.raps.org/news-and-articles/news-articles/2020/3/covid-19-vaccine-tracker there are 13 in or near phase 3 trials.

In conversations it seems strange that all these are available at or near the same time in such a short time when creating vaccine typically takes 5+ years. Even compressing the testing and makin it concurrent with production shouldn't make it nearly 10x faster like we've experienced. One could think this virus was particularly simple to make a vaccine for. ..yet we have SARS that is supposed to be quite similar that has no vaccine despite work being carried on since 2004.