Health & Fitness
Sponsored by

Iron levels high, ferritin low?

708 Views | 6 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by jamotoe1
jamotoe1
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I've been feeling weak and fatigued lately, so my doc ran some additional bloodwork at my physical this week. Everything came back within normal limits for the most part except my iron was high at 200, but my ferritin was on the lower side at 26.4. My percent sat was 59% and TIBC was 337.

I'm no doctor and was trying to google, but I don't see how those numbers even make sense together. Do it sound like it could be a lab error?

I'm going to go back on Tuesday to have the iron panel done again, but I'm kinda neurotic and just curious if my labs seemed odd.

Just extra info...my alkaline phosphatase, WBC and Neutros ABS were a little low, but everything else came back within normal limits (except iron). He did thyroid, CK, vitamin D, and all the standard stuff. I'm 38 F, 20 BMI, physically active and try to eat a pretty balanced diet, but honestly thought I didn't eat enough meat or get enough iron.

Curious if you'd wager this was more a lab error or if people can present with high iron and ferritin being on the lower side of normal. I guess I'll find out next week, but I'm not good at waiting.

Thanks!
stamper
AG
Ferritin less than 30 is generally considered diagnostic of iron deficiency. Were you fasting? Diet can effect serum iron levels. A low mcv on the cbc would also support iron deficiency.
jamotoe1